Boris Berezovsky and Nikita Borisoglebsky

Main programme
21 September 2020Monday
Previously announced date: 15 July 2020, 19:00
Philharmonic Hall

Boris Berezovsky - piano, Russia

Nikita Borisoglebsky - violin, Russia

The concert will replace the duo Amihai Grosz and Kim Sunwook.


First section:

Edvard Grieg - Sonata No. 3 for violin and piano, c-moll;

Jean Catoire - Sonata No. 2 for violin and piano "Poem", op.20.

Second section:

Igor Stravinsky - Divertimento for violin and piano;

Fritz Kreisler - Selected Pieces for Violin and Piano.

Boris Berezovsky is an outstanding virtuoso pianist.

He graduated from the Moscow State Conservatory (class of Eliso Virsaladze), took private lessons from Alexander Satz. In 1988, at the age of 19, he made his debut at London Wigmore Hall, in 1990 he was awarded a gold medal at the International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow.

He gives recitals in London, Paris, Rome, Zurich, Munich, Salzburg, Amsterdam, Montreal, Vienna, Bern, Budapest, Prague and Tokyo; performs at the Berlin Philharmonic, the Théâtre des Champs Elysees, the Paris Philharmonic, the Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brussels and the Vienna Konzerthaus. In 2006 he received the title of "Best Instrumentalist of the Year" from the "BBC Music Magazine".

He collaborates with renowned orchestras, including the National Orchestra of France, the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Dresden State Chapel, the Mariinsky Theatre Symphony Orchestra, the Radio France Philharmonic Orchestra, the NHK Symphony Orchestra, the Philharmonic Orchestras of Berlin, Los Angeles, New York and Munich. He performs with conductors Antonio Pappano, Yuri Temirkanov, Alexander Vedernikov, Leif Segerstam, Dmitry Kitayenko, Wolfgang Zavallisch, Leonard Slatkin, Dimitri Liss and Kurt Mazur.

Boris Berezovsky is the initiator, founder and artistic director of the Nikolai Medtner International Festival ("Medtner Festival"), which has been held since 2006 in Moscow, Yekaterinburg and Vladimir. In 2014 he became the artistic director of the "Music of the Earth" festival in Moscow and St. Petersburg.

His discography includes recordings of works by Chopin, Schumann, Rachmaninoff, Ravel, Mussorgsky, Balakirev, Lyadov, Tchaikovsky, Shostakovich, Medtner, Liszt, Beethoven and Mendelssohn. Many of the artist's discs received the "Golden Range", "Shock", "Gramophone" and "Echo Classic" awards.

Nikita Borisoglebsky is one of the brightest Russian violinists of the younger generation.

Graduated from the Moscow State Conservatory and postgraduate course (class of Professor Eduard Grach and Associate Professor Tatiana Berkul'), then continued his studies under the guidance of Augustin Dumais in Brussels and Anna Chumachenco in Kronberg.

He is a laureate of many international music competitions and was given a number of prestigious awards from various foundations and the Government of Russia: Violinist of the Year by the Maya Plisetskaya and Rodion Shchedrin International Foundation (USA, 2009), Virtuoso Prize of the Italian Academy of String Instruments and the Antonio Stradivari Society (Cremona, 2011), the Jean Sibelius Medal from the Jean Sibelius Foundation (Helsinki, 2011).

The violinist tours extensively in the regions of Russia, regularly gives concerts in Europe, Asia and the CIS. The musician collaborates with renowned orchestras and outstanding conductors, including: Valery Gergiev, Vladimir Fedoseyev, Krzysztof Penderecki, Yuri Simonov, Sakari Oramo, David Afkham, Hannu Lintu, Vassily Sinaisky, Lionel Bringuier, Dmitry Liss, Okko Kamu, Michael Yun Yurovsky and others. The violinist is also partial to the chamber ensemble. He played on the same stage with Rodion Shchedrin, Natalia Gutman, Yuri Bashmet, András Schiff, Nikolay Lugansky, Boris Berezovsky, Vadim Repin, Alexander Knyazev, Mao Fujita, Augustin Dumais, David Geringas, Lovro Pogorelich, Denis Kozhukhin, Alexander Rudin and others.

In 2018, the musician was awarded the honorary title "Honored Artist of Russia".

Nikita Borisoglebsky plays the unique violin made by the Italian master Matteo Goffriller in the 1720s.