Mikhail Bychkov was given the Platonov award 2020

On August 22 a meeting of the Council for the Platonov award in the field of literature and art was held under the chairmanship of the Governor of the Voronezh Region Alexander Gusev. Russian cultural and art workers who are members of the council were unanimous in the choice of the laureate. Mikhail Bychkov became the tenth laureate of the prize "for the creation of an innovative theatre and festival movement in the homeland of Andrey Platonov".

Mikhail Bychkov is a theatre director, the artistic director of the Voronezh Chamber Theatre, the artistic director of the International Platonov Festival, an Honored Art Worker of the Voronezh Region, a member of the Presidential Council for Culture and Art.

Bychkov is a laureate of the Stanislavsky award, a laureate of the New Drama festival for the best director's work. His performances have been repeatedly nominated for the Russian National Theatre award "The Golden Mask". He has a second-class medal of the Order of Merit for the Motherland for great achievement in development of the national culture and art. He was also awarded the Prize of the Government of the Russian Federation named after F. Volkov for his contribution to development of theatrical art in Russia.

The Platonov award is given annually to Russian or foreign literary and artistic figures for their significant contribution to the cultural heritage of the Russian Federation, for creation of outstanding works of literature, theatre, music, visual arts, and for innovative development of humanistic and cultural traditions.

The award’s monetary equivalent is 1,000,000 rubles. A nominee is also awarded a diploma and a memorable award pin.

In past years, a writer Boris Yekimov, a director Lev Dodin, a musician Mikhail Pletnev, an animator Alexander Petrov, a writer Andrey Bitov, a film director Alexander Sokurov, a writer Alexey Ivanov, a director Anatoly Vasiliev and an actress Alla Demidova, a theatre artist and writer Eduard Kochergin became Platonov award laureates.